MRC logo

Clwb Rhedeg MEIRIONNYDD Running Club.

Croeso / Welcome.

(Last update 4/2/19)

30 March 2019 Ras yr Aran Fell Race..

Ras yr aran

10 Miles with 3100' Ascent. Race Grade: AM & LK/PM/NS/ER
The third and final race in the Meirionnydd - Winter Race Series.
The lower reaches of the race are run on a mixture of well marked tracks and footpaths, but the open fells above are unmarked. The high mountain terrain can be featureless and is susceptible to varied and often adverse weather conditions. Navigational skills may be necessary.
Minimum age 18 years. Entry limit 250.
All competitors must carry wind/waterproof full body cover, map, compass and whistle.
Sorry, no Dogs.
Start 1300. Registration is in the Village Hall, Llanuwchllyn, Nr.Bala. Location

Goat rules.


2019 online membership renewals for current members available
Follow the link to pay your subscriptions through Fabian 4:

New members will need to complete and return the following form

Tuesday, Club Runs.

Winter training period will start from Tuesday the 2nd October. Runs will then start from the Dolgellau leisure Centre. Start 6:30pm. Map to the leisure centre

Club on Facebook (for updates and infomation)

Club Facebook group/discussion forum (restricted access):

Want to join this club on Strava?:

Club Park run results:

Club Race Records:

Newyddion / News.

26/1 Tarren Hendre, race 2 in Winter series.
January 26th saw the 16th Ras Tarrenhendre. The weather was typical for this race, not cold in the forest but blowing over 50mph and visibility down to 50m on the tops. 75 runners turned out, locals, winter series regulars and visitors from Derbyshire and even as far as Harwich. Local knowledge proved useful as several runners chose, despite the weather, to abandon the clear running line along the fence for the quicker southern route and came badly adrift by missing the awkward turn off in the cloud.

Race winner was the home club’s Tristan Evans taking his first outright win on a fell race with strong performance, leading throughout and winning in 52:44, 2:30 ahead of Eryri’s Richard Roberts with Karl Steinegger (Ambleside) taking third place. Women’s race winner Sara Willhoit (Mercia) took 8th place overall with time of 58:31 beating Eryri’s Miranda Grant by 2:30 mins, with Hebog’s Sian Williams coming third in 1:02:41.

Tarren Hendre 2019:

Junior Jack Westwood of Aberystwyth University was in 19th place at checkpoint 1 but was reeled in by Maldwyn Harrier Gruffydd Martin who from 37th rose through the field to win the category 23rd overall in a time of 1:04:05 with Jack 30th in 1:05:45.

The M40 category went to Eryri’s Mathew Fortes in 56:52 and team mate Stephen Jones took the M60in 1:03:38 a little outside his own course record but just ahead of Victor Belsham of Denbigh Harriers first M50 in 1:03:59. Garry Gunner (Croft Ambrey) finished 57th to take the M70 prize in 1:29:34 a comfortable 5 minutes ahead of Alwyn Oliver of Eryri.

Aberystwyth University Junior Rhiannon Kamink was in a clutch of runners who missed their way on the tops and dropped 40 minutes from an excellent 38th place to finish with the tail enders in 1:50:50. Louise Barker (F40) from Aberystwyth AC ran a very steady race maintaining her 46th position to win her class in 1:12:24, Meirionnydd’s own Juliet Edwards gained 8 places from the first checkpoint to take the F50 prize and Maggie Oliver of Eryri knocked a cool 5 minutes off her own F70 course record finishing 64th in 1:43:54

Thanks to Aberdovey Search and Rescue team, and all marshals and helpers.

31/12 Cursa dels Nassos 10k in Barcelona.
The Roberts brother travelled further south and usual to compete in the Cursa dels Nassos 10k in Barcelona. First home was Gwion Robets 34:15; Tom finished in 42:31.

barcelona 10k  2018 gwion roberts

31/12/18 Bowstone fell race.
Jeremy Randell ran in the Bowstones Fell Race finishing in 51:46.

bowstone fell race jeremy randell 2018

9/12/18 Aberystwyth 10k.
Ten Meirionnyd runners ran in the 20th Anniversary of the Aberystwyth 10k.

    Finishing times were as follows:
  • Euros Evans 37:46 2nd MU20
  • Adam Preston 46:48
  • Nich Bradley 47:42
  • Pete Nicholls 49:39
  • Nia Davies 53:47
  • Sioned Mair Jones 54:13
  • Kevin Evans 54:43
  • Peter Barnes 55:20
  • Mpho Bogatsu 55:56
  • Helen Jones 1:01:46
aberystwyth 10k euros evans 2018
aberystwyth 10k adam preston 2018
aberystwyth 10k nich bradley 2018
aberystwyth 10k pete nichols 2018
aberystwyth 10k nia davies 2018
aberystwyth 10k sioned jones 2018
aberystwyth 10k kevin evans 2018
aberystwyth 10k pete barnes 2018
aberystwyth 10k mpho bogatsu 2018
aberystwyth 10k helen nia 2018

8/12/18 Welsh Inter Regional Cross Country Championships in Llandrindod Wells.
Five Meirionnydd runners were selected to run for North Wales in the Welsh Inter Regions Cross country. Tom Roberts, Gwion Roberts, Alun Williams, Alex Lanz and Jeremy Randell.
Results TBC (WA link not working.)
Photo by NeeNee LJ:

inter regions xc  2018

8/12/18 Winter Run to the Castle.
A 42mile walking and running marshalled event that starts in the village of Aberdyfi to the castle town of Harlech, including: Tywyn, Fairbourne, Fairbourne bridge and Barmouth. The course is waymarked and includes beach, tracks and pavements as the main running surfaces. Ben wells said: “managed to get 3rd overall trying to chase the big man (Dylan Evans). Great day in wet and muddy conditions along the tops. Well done to Dylan Evans on 2nd who proves to be strong time and time again.” Results TBC.

winter run to the castles dylan evans 2018
winter run to the castles ben wells 2018

7/12/18 Dash in the Dark, LLandegla.
Well done to Tristan Evans finished 2nd in Dash in the Dark at LLandegla. Karl Steinegger Ambleside won the race in 23:51 and Tristan was just behind in 24:18.
Race report.

dash in the dark 2018

After one month the news will be transferred into: